Bryan DeBates

Bryan DeBates
Vice President of Education, Space Foundation

Prior to starting his position as an Elementary Education Specialist at the Space Foundation in 2006, DeBates taught 5th grade at Timberwilde Elementary in San Antonio, Texas, and Title I math and reading at Ipswich Elementary in Ipswich, South Dakota. He has also been an adjunct professor at Adams State University and Colorado State University-Pueblo. DeBates has been honored for his achievements in education through numerous awards, including being named the 2014 recipient of the prestigious Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal, presented by the International Astronautical Federation. Other awards include:

  • Colorado Air Force Association's Colorado Medal of Merit, 2016
  • Aerospace Education Foundation Christa McAuliffe Memorial Award National Finalist, 2006
  • Air Force Association's Alamo Chapter Christa McAuliffe Memorial Award Winner, 2006 • Air Force Association's Alamo Chapter Teacher of the Year, 2005
  • Texas A & M's Educators Shape the Future Award Winner, 2004
  • Time Warner Cable's National Crystal Apple Award Winner, 2003
  • Citation in the National Congressional Record for accomplishments in and contributions to education, 2003
  • Timberwilde Elementary Teacher of the Year, 2000

In 2004, DeBates was inducted into the Space Foundation's inaugural class of Teacher Liaisons, and he has participated in the Zero-G Weightless Flights of Discovery. DeBates earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education from Northern State University, Aberdeen, South Dakota and was selected as an Academic All-American football player in 1992. In 2006, he earned a Master's in Education degree, with an emphasis in space science education leadership, from Regis University, Denver, Colorado.